Carolina Mattress Guild Discontinued Product

SHARE

Sleep well.

Bottom Line What's this brand like?

Most Common Praise
What do owners of this brand love most?

Natural Materials

Made with natural materials and/or minimal chemicals.

Firm Support

Underlying back support is nice and firm.

Motion Isolation

Can't feel shaking or disturbance when my partner moves.

Most Common Complaints
What makes an owner of this brand unhappy?

Surface Integrity

Develops body impressions. Sleeping surface gets lumpy or uneven over time.

Overall Support

Feels saggy like a hammock, or mushy with no support. Wake up with back or neck pain.

Reviews Carolina Mattress Guild

Carolina Mattress Guild mattresses are recommended by 40% of owners on GoodBed (based on 110 ratings + 46 reviews).

Do you have something to say about your Carolina Mattress Guild mattress? Write a Review!

Recent Praise Carolina Mattress Guild

  • Comfort: Just right
  • Support: Excellent
  • Durability: Don't know
  • Pressure relief: Never
  • Temperature: Just right
Pros:
Overall Comfort
Cons:
None
  • Purchased

Official Response

By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on May 31, 2013

Hi Anne! Glad to hear that you and your kitties have found your "just right" mattress :) Thank you for buying American, and welcome to the CMG family!


    Pros:
    Firm Support
    Cons:
    None

    Official Response

    By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on February 27, 2013

    Hi Laurel!

    We're glad to hear that the comfort level of the Energy is just right for you! It can be really difficult to pick out a mattress (especially the first time!) so it's great that you were able to find your comfort preference and that it has lived up to your expectations.

    Speaking to your sagging edge issue, that can happen to a certain extent over time and with habitual / repeated wear like you describe, but it shouldn't be all that severe. The Energy is actually foam-encased to prevent that issue specifically. Have you measured how far it dips, or taken a picture of the sagging? If it is 2" or more of a slant, or if you can tell from the picture that it's a sharp drop-off, you should be able to speak with the DFW you purchased it from and have them start a warranty claim for you.

    And if you're not covered under warranty for whatever reason, a mattress topper (even a thin one) is a great way to flatten out the surface of the bed under the sheets :)


      Pros:
      Customer Service
      Firm Support
      Natural Materials
      Cons:
      None

      Official Response

      By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on February 12, 2013

      Hi Rona,

      We're so glad that the Radiant Firm ended up being the perfect mattress for you, and even happier to hear that our Customer Service team was able to help you work with Sleepy's and make your life a little easier!

      We love to hear stories like this, and we're ecstatic that you're so pleased with your mattress and with CMG. Please keep us updated on how your mattress is treating you (you can like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter to interact more easily!) and if there's anything else we can assist you with!

      Welcome to the CMG family :)


        Pros:
        Overall Comfort
        Cons:
        None

        Official Response

        By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on February 20, 2013

        That's great to hear, Brandon! So glad that you're loving your Peaceful and that the folks at Mattress Outlet were easy to work with! Thank you for buying American, and welcome to the CMG family! :)


          Pros:
          None
          Cons:
          None

          Official Response

          By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on April 29, 2014

          Glad to hear that you're loving your Caress, Sue!


            Pros:
            Temperature Control
            Cons:
            None
            • Purchased in Nov 2012

            Official Response

            By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on February 4, 2013

            Hi Harper --

            Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so happy to hear that Cool Coil is a great match for you and that you're enjoying the latex! Thank you for buying American, and welcome to the CMG family!


              Pros:
              Firm Comfort
              Firm Support
              Natural Materials
              Cons:
              None
              • Purchased in Oct 2012

              Official Response

              By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on October 18, 2012

              Anatole, we're so happy that you had a great experience with our brand! We work hard to make an eco-friendly, made in America product that mattress shoppers can see the value in. We appreciate your kind words, and welcome to the CMG family! Please do update us on the durability after you've had it for a while!


                Pros:
                Firm Support
                Cons:
                None

                Official Response

                By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on October 15, 2012

                Thank you so much for posting your review as it's own piece! We love to hear stories about great experiences like yours and we're so happy that you're pleased with your Caress! Welcome to the CMG family!


                  Pros:
                  Overall Comfort
                  Motion Isolation
                  Cons:
                  Firm Comfort

                  Official Response

                  By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on August 13, 2012

                  Hi Tara,

                  We're so happy to hear that you're positive about the purchase of your Caress! Hopefully it turns out to be a great one for you. We completely understand your guarded optimism, it must be hard to put your trust in a bedding company after the experiences that you've had. Remember, if your bed does start to sag or display any sort of manufacturer's defect that you're uncomfortable with, go back to Rooms to Go. They will send a representative out to look at your mattress and if it is a true defect, they will take care of replacing it for you at no cost to you. We don't think you'll have that problem, though! Enjoy your new mattress!

                  Hilary Dentler
                  Marketing and Sales Support


                    Pros:
                    Firm Comfort
                    Overall Support
                    Cons:
                    Warranty Terms
                    • Purchased in Jun 2012

                    Official Response

                    By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on August 9, 2012

                    John, we're so happy to hear that you're loving your Essence! We appreciate your business and thank you for the kind words!

                    See all Carolina Mattress Guild reviews →

                    Recent Complaints Carolina Mattress Guild

                    • Comfort: Slightly too soft
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Occasionally
                    • Temperature: Just right
                    Pros:
                    Motion Isolation
                    Natural Materials
                    Cons:
                    Overall Comfort
                    Overall Durability
                    Overall Support
                    ↓ See More ↓
                    Overall Value


                    • Comfort: Way too soft
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Too hot
                    Pros:
                    None
                    Cons:
                    Overall Comfort
                    Overall Durability
                    Edge Support
                    ↓ See More ↓
                    Natural Materials
                    Overall Support
                    Surface Integrity
                    Overall Value


                    • Comfort: Just right
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Just right
                    Pros:
                    Overall Comfort
                    Motion Isolation
                    Natural Materials
                    Cons:
                    Conforming
                    Dual Comfort
                    Overall Durability
                    ↓ See More ↓
                    Pressure Relief
                    Overall Support
                    Surface Integrity
                    Overall Value


                    • Comfort: Just right
                    • Support: Good
                    • Durability: Slightly worse
                    • Pressure relief: Occasionally
                    • Temperature: Just right
                    Pros:
                    Firm Support
                    Motion Isolation
                    Cons:
                    Overall Comfort
                    Overall Durability
                    Overall Value


                    • Comfort: Way too soft
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Don't know
                    Pros:
                    None
                    Cons:
                    Overall Durability
                    Edge Support
                    Long-Term Comfort
                    ↓ See More ↓
                    Motion Isolation
                    Natural Materials
                    Overall Support
                    Surface Integrity
                    Overall Value
                    • Purchased in Jun 2014

                    Official Response

                    By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on October 30, 2014

                    Timothy,

                    I'm so sorry to hear of the issues that you've experienced with your mattresses. I assure you that yours is not a normal case, and as such, I have forwarded your message along to our quality control department so that they are aware such situations are occurring. Thank you for writing in.


                    • Comfort: Way too soft
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Too hot
                    Pros:
                    None
                    Cons:
                    Overall Comfort
                    Overall Durability
                    Edge Support
                    ↓ See More ↓
                    Long-Term Support
                    Motion Isolation
                    Natural Materials
                    Overall Support
                    Surface Integrity
                    Overall Value

                    Official Response

                    By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on October 30, 2014

                    Vern,

                    I am so sorry to hear of the issues that you've been experiencing with your CMG mattress. Since you're in Georgia, I assume that you purchased your bed from Rooms to Go? If that is the case, then you mattress should still be under warranty, and if indeed your sag is greater than 1.5", you should qualify for a warranty claim. I would absolutely recommend that you contact them with the information you've posted here so that they can get that going for you.

                    Once again, I apologize for the unfortunate experience that you have had.


                    • Comfort: Way too soft
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Too hot
                    Pros:
                    None
                    Cons:
                    Overall Comfort
                    Firm Comfort
                    Pressure Relief

                    Official Response

                    By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on July 29, 2014

                    Hi Mandy -- I'm sorry to hear that you're unhappy with your Pine Ridge Firm mattress set. Have you contacted the store where you purchased your set to see if they would send out an inspector to take a look at it? It sounds as though it might be an issue that is covered under our warranty.


                    • Comfort: Slightly too soft
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Too hot
                    Pros:
                    None
                    Cons:
                    Surface Integrity

                    Official Response

                    By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on October 19, 2014

                    Marcia,

                    I'm so sorry to hear of the issues that you experienced with your Hampton Plush, but I am glad that you found a solution that worked for you. Please accept our sincerest apologies as this is not common of our mattresses and we strive to create durable products that we are proud of.

                    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.


                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Much worse
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Don't know
                    Pros:
                    None
                    Cons:
                    Firm Support
                    Issue Resolution
                    • Purchased 1-3 months ago

                    Official Response

                    By Hilary Pope from Carolina Mattress Guild on June 30, 2014

                    Hi Kathy -- It does sound like the issue that you're experiencing is a manufacturer's defect that would be covered under our warranty.

                    Has Sleepy's customer service told you why they have not yet sent someone out to inspect your mattress? This is typically the first step in getting the warranty-replacement process going.

                    If you'd like, feel free to send an email to info [at] carolinamattressguild [dot] com with detailed information on where you purchased, the contacts that you've had with Sleepy's thus far, and anything else that is relevant to your case (pictures are always helpful) and they would be able to look into the situation for you.


                    • Comfort: Way too soft
                    • Support: Poor
                    • Durability: Don't know
                    • Pressure relief: Often
                    • Temperature: Too hot
                    Pros:
                    None
                    Cons:
                    Edge Support
                    Soft Comfort
                    Temperature Control

                    See all Carolina Mattress Guild reviews →

                    Q&A Carolina Mattress Guild

                    See questions from other mattress shoppers

                    Answered by Carolina Mattress Guild (12)


                    Related Questions (4)

                    About this Manufacturer Carolina Mattress Guild

                    Status:
                    Discontinued

                    Details

                    Support Core:
                    Varied
                    Price Range:
                    Lower-Mid ($500-$1,000)

                    Company

                    Located:
                    Thomasville, NC
                    Tagline:
                    Sleep well.
                    Founded:
                    1991

                    Additional Information Carolina Mattress Guild

                    Description:

                    Carolina Mattress Guild is a mattress manufacturer founded in 1991 that is based in Thomasville, NC the United States.

                    Editor's Note(s):

                    Corrections:

                    Have an update or correction to our information about Carolina Mattress Guild? If so, please take a moment to suggest an edit.

                    Top