SHARE THIS

Price Range (queen-size mattress)

Most models from this brand are priced:

  • $1k or less
  • $2k or less
  • $3k or less
  • $4k or less
  • $4k or more

What Owners Are Saying Englander

You are currently viewing the Englander reviews page.
Be sure to visit the Englander profile for product line info, model details, photos, videos, Q&A and more!

Top Praise & Complaints Englander

Praise

People who are happy with their Englander mattress frequently praise Comfort and Support.

  • Comfort
    78%

    Overall Comfort

  • Support
    67%

    Overall Support

People who are unhappy with their Englander mattress sometimes praise Comfort.

Complaints

People who are unhappy with their Englander mattress frequently complain about Surface Integrity, Pressure Relief and Warranty Claims.

  • Durability
    69%

    Surface Integrity

  • Other
    63%

    Warranty Claims
    Warranty Terms

  • Comfort
    44%

    Pressure Relief

Most helpful positive review

Well Worth The Money Spent

I love my mattress so much I felt compelled to write a review. I never write reviews. I feel that Englander has one of the best products available. I tried Sealy and Sternes and Foster before and was disappointed with both. Dont waiste your time on... Read more »

Stephen J from Franklin, TN

Most helpful negative review

sleeping in the middle

I have only had this mattress for 3 years and I dread every night of getting into it. It sags in the middle and very uncomfortable. I only weigh 125 so I know it isn't the weight and I keep it turned so it will be more comfortable, but after about 2-3 ... Read more »

Karla S from Gadsden, AL


Do you have something to say about your Englander mattress? Write a Review!

Ratings Breakdown Englander Reviews

Summary % Praising % Complaining
Comfort

48%
Overall Comfort
28%
Pressure Relief
Support

32%
Overall Support
20%
Durability

16%
44%
Surface Integrity
Value

16%
20%
Other Features

16%
52%
Warranty Claims, Warranty Terms

Reviews Englander

Do you have something to say about your Englander mattress? Write a Review!

Englander Reviews
Ratings


(based on 26 reviews)

  • 5 stars
    (8)
  • 4 stars
    (0)
  • 3 stars
    (1)
  • 2 stars
    (1)
  • 1 star  
    (15)
Recommendations 9 of 26 reviewers would recommend their Englander mattress to a friend

  • Comfort: Just right
  • Support: Excellent
  • Durability: Don't know
  • Pressure relief: Excellent
  • Temperature: Just right
Pros:

Overall Comfort
Localness
Firm Comfort
Motion Isolation
Soft Comfort
Overall Support

Cons:

None

I spent 5 nights in 2013 at Timber Inn Motel in Ludlow VT on this mattress. My husband and I returned this year to the same room in the same motel and this time I remembered to write down what kind of mattress it was. I suffer from low back pain and a husband who rolls over like a freight train :) Neither one of us noticed when the other got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. Not once did I feel him roll over. It was heaven! I'm hoping to get one for my own home very soon.


  • Comfort: Way too soft
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Too hot
Pros:

None

Cons:

Pressure Relief
Overall Support
Overall Value
Warranty Terms

DO NOT BUY!!! Our son bought a mattress and frame from Mattress USA in Kennesaw and figured we would go back. We were looking for something firm but not hard. The salesmen showed us several mattresses. Of course we tried them out and was told the Englander was a good brand mattress compaired to Sealey, etc... We got the mattress delivered and it wasn't nearly what we experienced in the store, it didn't even come close. We contacted the store and told the salesman the bed is not comfortable at all. He told us, that within the two weeks of purchase, the mattress had been discontinued. So he told us we had 90 days to try it out and told us his little secret to "break the mattress in". It still didn't work. So we spoke to the manager at a different location, same store and he asked us if we purchased the mattress pad. If we did not, there wasn't anything he could do per our warranty that was posted on the back of the receipt that you wouldn't pay attention too....
The mattress is very uncomfortable and when my husband and I are intimate we have to move to different positions every few minutes because of the dents made. We have had to rotate the bed more than often. Sometimes when I sleep I find myself pulling up out of the hole I have sunken into. We feel we have wasted our time and money. In less than 6 months we have to buy another mattress. DO NOT BUY!!


  • Comfort: Way too soft
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Just right
Pros:

Initial Comfort

Cons:

Overall Comfort
Overall Durability
Warranty Terms

We have had our e-gel/ cool gel tech queen size memory foam bed for 18 months now. Deeply disappointed. First 10 months were bliss. Now the mattress sags. Yes we turn it every month. For the almost $1200 that we paid for it, I am bitterly disappointed in it's lack of durability. It is now less comfortable than the $400 mattress it replaced, which we had slept in for 8 years. Bitter disappointment.

The local store sent over someone to examine the mattress and then, bizarrely, told us that because we had removed the manufacturers' label, they could do nothing. This is something they should have warned us of, prior to letting us take the bed home.


  • Comfort: Just right
  • Support: Excellent
  • Durability: Same
  • Pressure relief: Excellent
  • Temperature: Just right
Pros:

Overall Comfort
Pressure Relief
Product Quality

Cons:

Flip-Ability
Price

I must admit, I was very leery about buying this bed, after I had already purchased it. I hadn't heard of it, and when I tried to find out any information on it, there was NONE. I had read several complaints about Englander in general and I thought I just flushed $1500 dollars down the toilet. My bed arrived the day after I bought it. They set it up and when I saw it I was a little surprised at how high it was off the floor. I'm a tall woman, almost 6' but I need a step stool to get into bed it is that high, but from the first night I slept on it until tonight when I gratefully will crawl into bed again I have nothing but praise for this bed.

6 months later, I still cannot find any reviews on the gel infused bed that I bought so I thought I would throw a couple opinions out there, in case someone is on the fence.

This is the MOST comfortable bed I have ever slept in, it stays cool and I have had no issues with sagging (remember, I'm quite tall and I'm no lightweight either), but I love, love, love this bed. I have had no issues with back pain since I bought it, shoulder, or hip pain either. This bed stays cool and I love the stay cool gel-infusion. I love to run my legs across my sheets and feel the coolness against my skin, it's just awesome.

I was so concerned because all I read were bad reviews, and even on this site there are more bad reviews, this makes me sad, because all I have are wonderful things to say about it.

-Em


  • Comfort: Way too soft
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Just right
Pros:

Firm Support
Initial Comfort

Cons:

Surface Integrity
Warranty Claims

  • Purchased less than a month ago

I bought the Englander KIOS bed because it felt great in the showroom. After 7 days and $1100 price, the mattress developed divots and sagging where my lower back and feet rest. I called the store. They told me that unless the holes were two inches, the warranty doesn't apply. I'm sure that that will take another week. I have to transport the bed myself to the store for inspection. Don't buy anything from Englander.


  • Comfort: Way too hard
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Don't know
  • Temperature: Don't know
Pros:

Price

Cons:

Overall Durability
Firm Support
Product Quality

We purchased our mattress less than three years ago. As soon as the warranty expired we started feel discomfort in our bed. This mattress has a resulted in me having severe lower back pain. Every morning, I have to sleep on the sofa for relief. When I move to the sofa, the pain disappears immediately. I am so sorry I invested my money in this mattress. Definitely, one of the worse mistakes I have ever made.


“good brand bad choice”

  • Comfort: Way too soft
  • Support: Good
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Just right
Pros:

Soft Comfort

Cons:

Overall Comfort
Conforming
Dual Comfort

  • Purchased in Jun 2011

by jacki H from Portland, OR on Oct 8, 2013

We have had Englander in the past and liked them. The top of the line natural latex is awful. It forma a huge hump in the middle. We have to jump on it regularly to be rid of it. The lower end mattresses are much better.


  • Comfort: Slightly too soft
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Don't know
Pros:

None

Cons:

Pressure Relief
Surface Integrity

I have only had this mattress for 3 years and I dread every night of getting into it. It sags in the middle and very uncomfortable. I only weigh 125 so I know it isn't the weight and I keep it turned so it will be more comfortable, but after about 2-3 days, it's the same problem. I feel like I am sleeping in a hole and am sore all over when I finally get out of the bed. I end up getting up 2-3 times a night just to walk around and stretch my back. I am definitely looking at getting another one very soon. It is a shame you spend so much money on a mattress then not have them hold up the way they should.


  • Comfort: Just right
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Just right
Pros:

None

Cons:

Overall Comfort
Conforming
Pressure Relief
Surface Integrity
Warranty Claims

  • Purchased in Nov 2011

After only 3 months there were two sags from where we slept 1.25 inches deep which is less than the warranty specifies. Several months later we did exceed the 1.5 inch sag as noted by the manufacturer. When an inspector came to see the mattress he discovered some sort of very light stain which would void the warranty. He apparently said the box springs were not the correct springs for this bed and that the bed frame was not right either. Please Note: The salesman stated that the box springs were the correct match and that we must purchase the bed frame , that we did, to ensure the warranty. The frame is fine, the box springs do not sag but the mattress is a terribly inferior piece of junk and the company stated that we are at fault and would not honor their product warranty. Do your self a favor and do not buy and Englander mattress.


  • Comfort: Way too hard
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Same
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Too hot
Pros:

None

Cons:

Firm Comfort
Pressure Relief

wrost bed I ever slep on like sleeping on a rock. tossed and turned all night .back hurt all the next day. could not rest in this bed.


  • Comfort: Way too soft
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Too hot
Pros:

Conforming

Cons:

Overall Comfort
Dual Comfort
Pressure Relief
Warranty Claims

  • Purchased in Oct 2005

My wife and I purchase this bed because of the salesman's comments on it and initial tryout was comfortable plus he stated that it had a non prorated warranty. After 6 years the bed created to soft spots one on the right and one on the left with the center remaining hard. It was like sleeping in a cocoon. I called the sales store and they set up an appointment for the bed to be evaluated. The representative from Sleeptek's came to our home in Feb 2012 placed a string from corner to corner on both side and then a plastic glass in the center of the bed. (wow! a plastic glass) their letter came a few days later stating. 1. No manufacturing defects identified, 2 normal body impressions with in guidelines. 3. Comfort and or firmness are a matter of personal preference at the time of purchase. 4. Complaint unfounded.
Well a plastic glass does not sleep on the bed we do and this is the worst mattress I have ever owned and I do not recommend it to anyone. The store where we purchased the set from was very helpful but the Manufatures rep was not, this mattress should not have broken down in that short period of time


  • Comfort: Just right
  • Support: Poor
  • Durability: Way worse
  • Pressure relief: Poor
  • Temperature: Too hot
Pros:

Initial Comfort

Cons:

Surface Integrity

Does not hold up, has deep sagging (3 inches) where you lay after a few months, even when turned every month. Looks like an old sagging mattress when the bed is made, very embarrassing.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

None

Cons:

Customer Service Surface Integrity Warranty Claims

  • Purchased in Feb 2013

extremely horrible mattress and company,you will need a lawyer,
this company's warranties aren't worth the paper their written on,no customer loyalty,company customer service not helpful


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

None

Cons:

Surface Integrity

An around expensive mattress that doesn't make the grade. Would not recommend this one to anyone. There is a hump in the middle of our bed and indentions where we sleep on each side.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Overall Durability
Overall Support
Overall Value

Cons:

None

  • Purchased in Oct 2009

I love my mattress so much I felt compelled to write a review. I never write reviews. I feel that Englander has one of the best products available. I tried Sealy and Sternes and Foster before and was disappointed with both. Dont waiste your time on that junk buy a real mattress fro Englander.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

None

Cons:

Customer Service Long-Term Support

  • Purchased in Jun 2008

We paid $3,000 for a King size with a pillow top and their box springs in 2008-09. In less than a year it started to sag. It is now sagging more than 3 inches. I have to "roll up" the ridge to get out of bed. I called the Englander number on their web site 800 837-5337 Guess what? Wrong number!! Stay away from this bed and this company.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Appearance
Natural Materials

Cons:

Pressure Relief Price Product Consistency Overall Support

Absolute garbage -- buy something else. I purchased a Lady Englander Emerald Firm in January of 2012. The fact that this particular mattress is manufactured with recycled materials and organic latex and bamboo appealed to me. The bed never felt like the one in the showroom, so I went back to the retailer three times and was told it needs to "break in". Well, it did "break in" and things have gone from bad to worse. My back and hip hurt so much that I toss and turn all night long. I have been completely exhausted, since purchasing this pile of crap, and have recently resorted to sleeping on my AeroBed. The fact that a $200 air mattress is more comfortable than a $950 inner spring mattress says a lot. Do yourself a favor and buy something else.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

None

Cons:

Repairs Surface Integrity Warranty Claims Warranty Terms

  • The Synergy product line
  • Purchased in Dec 2005

I'll cut to the chase:  If you have any kind of stain, no matter how light or how small - warranty void.

If you have not rotated your matress religiously - warranty void.

Englander's version of their 15 yr warranty - rotate your mattress 1/4 turn (even though this causes it to hang over the box springs on each side) weekly for several months.  If this doesn't work they will offer to send you some extra padding to stuff between the box springs and mattress to stiffen the spots with body impressions.

Is this what I spent well over $2000 for for a King memory foam set???  I asked how rotating the mattress one half of a turn (which is what they recommend until they void your warranty and the the 1/4 turn suggestion comes out) solves body impressions when the bed is occupied by two people and one half of a turn puts those two people right back in the same body impressions.  They didn't offer an answer to this question of course.  I also was told by the retailer not to use a matress pad because this would affect the memory foams ability to conform to your body and provide support as it should.  Well thanks to that suggestion, any light stain affords Englander the ammo they are looking for to deny the warranty and place the blame for their defective product on you.  Of course the stain(s) have nothing to do with the body impressions (just as lack of rotating the matress 1/2 of a turn does) in this defective mattress but this doesn't matter to Englander because they already have my money.  Customer service is not their strong point as they are very good at shirking any warranty coverage.  BTW. they don't "replace' mattresses, they only offer to "repair" them.  hence the reason any little stain will void your warrnty because they claim that for health reasons they cannot ask their employess to handle your mattress.

To sum it all up:  spend your money with a company that bulids a better quality product and actually stands behind their product warranties instead of finding any reason to avoid admitting their product is defective when it truly is. 


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Overall Comfort

Cons:

Thickness

I had 16 beds in 12 years. They were just OK except a Simmons Beautyrest World Class.that came with a furnished apartment. When I moved to a house, I was about to buy a Simmons for $1200 when I found this floor model $900 Englander and $400 bed on sale for $600. I bought it for the price; I got a mattress BETTER than the Simmons. If I had to buy a mattress tomorrow, I'd pay list for a 21st Century without hesitation. It's the most comfortable bed I ever slept in, and that includes expensive hotels.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Firm Support
Soft Comfort
Surface Integrity

Cons:

None

A mattress is no small purchase so taking the dive can be nerve racking. I finally after a few months researching latex went for it. THIS is the absolute best bed ever!! As the other reviewer stated, its hard to get out of in the morning! I'm always late for work and my excuse is "I love my bed". On to the details. First, bed bugs cannot and will not live in your latex bed. That was worth the money to me right there. For the first year you should rotate it a quarter of a turn every 3 months, not sure why because I've had no dips or bumps..I just do as I'm told. This thing is perfect. I had one scare where it dipped in the middle, but turns out it was my center support of my bedframe had collapsed - it was not the mattress! I would highly recommend this bed.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Overall Comfort
Localness
Price
Overall Support

Cons:

None

Hand down, the best mattress I've ever had. I wouldn't give Serta or Simmons or Sealy another dime of my hard earned money again knowing that Englander is available. The only other bed I'd consider is a Stearns and Foster or Tempurpedic. We are about to buy the exact same bed for our guest room. They are affordable and made right in the USA. Love the bedding!


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Overall Comfort
Overall Support
Overall Value

Cons:

None

This is the best mattress I have ever slept on hands down. From first crawling into the mattress til crawling out of it in the morning it feels like sleeping on a cloud. This mattress offers the best in support and comfort. The only thing I have found bad about it is that it is so comfortable I find it hard to get out of to get my day started. This mattress truly lives up to its name as I feel restored after a night on this mattress. Best money I ever spent!!


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

None

Cons:

Customer Service Price Overall Support Warranty Claims Warranty Terms

purchased the "top of the line" available at our local furniture store, Scott's Furniture in Cleveland, TN, paying over $1500 for a queen size mattress set from Englander with the then "new" Bamboo cover that "wicks" moisture away providing a better night's sleep. They failed to mention that while the cover was drawind the moisture away that if it created any spot on the mattress cover, the warranty would be voided. Their customer service rep said we should have put a plastic mattress pad/cover on to prevent any spots - she had not response to our question of how the bamboo and padding was supposed to "wick moisture away" if it was encased in a plastic cover. Their on hold messaging system still boasts the mattress's ability to wick moisture away for a better night's rest. Their website also lists ways to clean the mattress, which I did removing spots, and the company still will not warranty their product. I realize there may always be issues with a product but expect the company to stand behing their warranty, which Englander has failed to do thus far.


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Edge Support
Soft Comfort

Cons:

Surface Integrity

I am pissed off that I spent a month's salary for a new bed that is now stuck with a deep dip in the middle of the bed after just a few months under my 140 pound body. The only thing firm about this bed is the edge support. The only thing luxury is the cash made by these rip-off artists!


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Allergen Resistance
Soft Comfort
Temperature Control

Cons:

Price Overall Support Thickness

switched from select air after 12 years--just wasn't comfy anymore-- to englander symphonic nature's best latex system this year. kind of expensive, $1200 for mattress and another hundred for the platform foundation. tend to sleep in one position most of the night now, but still have some stiffness in the morning. have latex pillows also which are comfortable


  • Comfort
  • Support
  • Durability
  • Value
Pros:

Overall Durability
Overall Support

Cons:

None

  • Purchased in Mar 2008

We Bought A Queen Size Englander Ultra Comfort Mattress 2 Years Ago, Still Like Original No Sagging Perfect Support To the Body, What a difference Mattress Makes, each night we are having a perfect sleep

Smart Price

  • 1 Submit
    Request
  • 2 Timing &
    Price
  • 3 Other
    Prefs

Your request was submitted!

Please answer a few questions about your preferences. This will help us find you the best deal.

Do you need this bed by a certain date?
, select a date
Are you OK buying online?
Is there a specific price you’re hoping to beat?
, select a price

Great! Your preferences were saved.

The final questions below will help us find you the best deal possible.

What factors are most important to you?
Do you need anything else with this mattress?
Any other comments about your preferences?

1 Confirm Your Bed

What do you want to buy?
(this is the bed you'll get deals on)

Size
Bundle

2 Provide Contact Info

How should we contact you?
(this is how we'll notify you of new deals)

Email
?
Zip / Postal
?
First Name
?

GoodBed saves you time, hassle, and money.

No driving
around town

Request deals from from multiple stores at once...all online.

No unwanted calls or emails

No spam. No sales calls.
You stay anonymous.

No awkward haggling

Lock in your savings with a guaranteed price certificate.